Bowman 23-Oct-18
Hawkarcher 23-Oct-18
Smartass 15-Nov-18
TEmbry 15-Nov-18
SmokedTrout 26-Nov-18
Surfbow 26-Nov-18
CapTree 01-Mar-19
11-Dec-17
My wife purchased me a new sealer for Christmas and I am going to open it early this week to butcher a few deer. I think she bought a Food Saver from Kohls but I don't know what model.

I have never used a sealer before, so please send some recommendations for units less than $200.

Thanks

11-Dec-17
I use one of the very small Food Saver sealers, they are quite cheap if you shop around, like $25 range online. For bags I buy the Weston bags when they go on sale on Amazon, they are pre-cut. 6x10" bags are perfect size for 1lb ground meat per bag or for 2-3 steaks/chops per bag. The sealer has lasted me many years, but the air pump gets warm if doing more than say 12 bags at a time, so I just work in batches as best I can to keep it from dying. Bigger models might not have that problem, but the price gets a bit ridiculous in my opinion. Another problem is that if the meat is wet the liquid can make the bag not seal properly.

11-Dec-17
I have a food saver sealer, not sure of the model. I love mine. I get a 1/2 beef every year and vacuum seal all of it. I get my bags off of Amazon and they all seem about the same.

11-Dec-17
If you get liquid in the bag then place a rolled flattened paper towel at the bag mouth and vacuum like that. The paper towel will keep the liquid at bay long enough to get a good seal.

11-Dec-17
I've got a commercial Weston sealer that I've been very happy with. It pumps bag after bag after bag and will never overheat.

11-Dec-17
I've had a food saver and use them alot. Just got a new one earlier this year as I wore out the other one. I think it was less than $100. I get the 8" x 50' and 10" x 50' rolls from EBay and make my own bags.