Pyrannah 13-Jan-18
txhunter58 13-Jan-18
brunse 14-Jan-18
Z Barebow 14-Jan-18
LINK 14-Jan-18
PushCoArcher 14-Jan-18
LINK 15-Jan-18
12-Jan-18
Picking my first elk spot and i'm currently looking at the SW corner of CO units 71,72,73,74,75 base on some suggestions.

Can anyone tell me what the terrain is really like here? I see it has some high elevations, but not sure how rugged it really is.

Are there road camping areas or would it be best to hike in to camping locations?

What is the elk population like from your experiences and hunting pressure?

This is my first time DIY and not really sure how to finalize on a unit, but want to pick one soon, and start game planning!

Any information would be SUPER helpful!!

Thanks!

12-Jan-18
Good elk population extreme hunting pressure lots of places to camp elk not likely to be near any of these camping areas unless u spike.

12-Jan-18
thanks swamp, have you hunted any of those areas with success?

12-Jan-18
Ditto what swampokie said. Have hunted there in 71 several times. Always saw elk, didn't always connect. We drive in/up then camp. Elk can be within 1 mile of camp/roads. It's usually later in the archery season before you hear much bugling. If you connect and want someone to pack it out, call Al Cannon at Circle K Ranch, ckranch.com. They are located up 145 from Dolores. He is an outfitter in the area.

12-Jan-18
thanks mudhole, i'll keep the contact, i really don't expect to need it, but maybe!?!?!?!

12-Jan-18
I hunted 75 a little this past year. Good elk country just extreme amount of pressure in archery season with all the other deer bear elk muzz going on. If u hunt the first week u wont have as many hunters but u will catch labor day hellrazors . U will not be hunting the rut tho. My friend hunted 74 with not much luck last year. I don't think he got more than a couple hundred yards from camp tho.

12-Jan-18
Thanks swamp, sent you a pm

12-Jan-18