geoffp 06-Jul-18
BOWNBIRDHNTR 07-Jul-18
kota-man 07-Jul-18
Korey Wolfe 10-Jul-18
HUNT MAN 10-Jul-18
Bowboy 14-Jul-18
Lone Bugle 13-Aug-18
08-May-18
Well I've been holding off on posting this. I spoke with the folks at Eastman's EBJ today and they said it was alright to post my hunt. I'll try my best to make this interesting.

I've been applying for a sheep tag since the points system came out in WY. I was a resident for quite a few years since I was military person. I missed one year when I was stationed in Korea. We had an unexpected exercise get prolonged, and I missed the deadline. I was one point shy of max.

I've been trying to draw the 3 hardest areas in the state, but so is everyone else, and with being one shy of max, it wasn't going to happen anytime soon. I'd stayed have a non-resident I would have probably drawn one of those units who know's.

I finally decided to throw my name in the hat for one of the other areas. With my points it was pretty well a given I'd draw. Also I'm not getting any younger!

The draw results came out and I drew an Area 5 tag. I chose this area because it has a lot sheep, and as you all know than means more opportunities. A lot of folks stated it was a difficult area to bow hunt since it's so open, but I knew a few folks who hunted it and were successful.

I called a good friend and he's helped a lot people rifle hunt this area many times. He also took a ram himself with a bow. Also this is a 6.5hr trip from my home to the area one way.

08-May-18

Bowboy's embedded Photo
Bowboy's embedded Photo
I went up with my friend at the end of June and he showed me the lay of land and access points. This unit is big and I don't have access to horses or mules.

You have to go through the big metropolis of Meeteetse WY Population 327. In native american language it means "Meeting Place". I think a lot of the Chiefs use to meet there back in the day in this area.