Rock 07-Aug-18
smarba 07-Aug-18
drycreek 07-Aug-18
AZBUGLER 07-Aug-18
Shug 07-Aug-18
dirtclod Az. 08-Aug-18
sightsee 08-Aug-18
17-Jun-18
I'm finally going on a antelope hunt with longbow to boot in Oregon! I have no pronghorn experience and was wondering what the experts thought of to keep from spooking a cagey old buck antelope from my ground blind? Please post pics and if you don't mind sharing your custom designed blind concept. I hear don't use shiny nylon type of fabric so do you think burlap is better? Does military camo 3D netting work well? What if it's blowing wind and the netting is slightly vibrating in the wind, will that spook them? How do you stay comfortable in a 120 degree blind?

17-Jun-18
I hunted the most non spooky antelope ever last year on a ranch. I put a trail camera up a month before season and had antelope all day everyday at the water trough. I put a blind out a week before and the antelope vanished. If there were no other water sources I think they would have come back to the water, but since there were other troughs in the area they abandoned that one due to the blind.

17-Jun-18
Antelope will tolerate some changes and natural built blinds, but the commercial ones make them very wary. If you can go over about a month before and built a homemade plywood blind they'll get use too it. Also put some sage or paint it natural colors. I prefer the homemade blinds over the commercial type.

17-Jun-18
I used to own an archery antelope outfitting business. We killed almost all of them out of blinds. No trick, we built our own out of hog panels and either camo cloth or just black fabric. Two shooting ports on each wall with flaps. Put them out as early as reasonable with 4 T posts and 2 strands of barbed wire to keep the cattle from knocking them down. Once Double Bulls came around we used a bunch of those as well. Sometimes they were very cautious of blinds, other times they basically ignored them.