Dyjack 19-Aug-18
swampokie 19-Aug-18
Darrell 19-Aug-18
Dyjack 20-Aug-18
smarba 21-Aug-18
Bobby 21-Aug-18
Darrell 21-Aug-18
11-Jul-18
I have been prepping for this hunt for awhile, i have hunted elk before but never with a bow. been to area 52 before but can not say i know the area. the most i know is san antonio and to the east of the toltec gorge. I have been hunting for many years but still consider myself a novice. I am looking for advice on hunting elk in this area, as i would really like to even just see something. going backpack in an out. and i was really wondering about jawbone mountain in the south west of the area as well if anyone has any info on that.will be going sometime early september, just not sure if i want to set up before the hunt or in the middle. 7 or 8 days will be my planned time. so again any info on where the elk generally hang out or advice on bowhuntin elk in general would be greatly appreciated. Also looking for a hunting partner as well.

11-Jul-18
If I can find my map ill send you the two locations where I heard or saw elk.

11-Jul-18
I can help, send me a private message, that's my second home...

11-Jul-18
If you look at the map you'll see there's only a few places you can really get away from a road. If you're gonna backpack in you'll see which one is the best choice. And I guarantee there's elk.

12-Jul-18
hunt the diablo,

12-Jul-18
Two years ago, 'backpacked in' (saved a mile walk) and woke up first morning to a truck driving past at 40 yards -- take your humor with you-- it's NM and you will probably need it daily. The elk will be where you find them and until someone bumps them. It makes me laugh how people hunt the 'northern part' or 'basin' because it's some how 'better'. Yet unit 51 is right south, and there's a ton of elk all over that place. Good luck! (I know a guy that loves Jawbone area, but it's all subjective)

12-Jul-18