drycreek 25-Jul-18
Dyjack 25-Jul-18
milnrick 25-Jul-18
Pigsticker 25-Jul-18
Lost Arra 25-Jul-18
12yards 25-Jul-18
BIGHORN 26-Jul-18
25-Jul-18
I am very new to bowhunting and archery in general. I was recently offered a 60 lb bow for free, but I'm not sure I could reliably draw and shoot it. How can I build up to this? Should I just shoot over and over, as many times as I can until it becomes easy? Sorry if this is a stupid question, which I'm sure it is, just wondering.

25-Jul-18
Don’t over do it in your shooting sessions. It can cause rotator cuff stress/issues.

I learned this the hard Way when I jumped up to 75lb longbows, from 62 lbs.

25-Jul-18
Don't say what kind of bow, but if a compound and you have access to a recurve/longbow it's a great tool to build strength since you are actually holding the bow back. Don't need to shoot it, just pull and hold.

Exercise bands can be used the same way and are quite reasonably priced.

25-Jul-18
I’m sure there are some sort of exercises you can do to increase bow strength. That said I’d turn down your bow as much as possible and shoot 2-3 shots a day until think you can shoot 5 without feeling fatigued, then 7-8 and so on. Once you can comfortably shoot 20-30 shots turn you bow up little by little each day. Shooting muscles are unique. I’ve seen tough guys that can bench nearly twice their weight not be able to get a 70# bow drawn. Just work at it and you’ll get there. You mind try to find out how many turns you can safely turn your bows limb bolts out. If it’s 8. Tighten them completely then turn them out 8 turns, one or two turns at a time each. It might be a good idea to find a good bow shop and make sure your bow is proper draw length and get it set up for you, if it has a peep.

25-Jul-18