longbeard 30-Jul-18
Aces11 31-Jul-18
DMTJAGER 01-Aug-18
RD in WI 01-Aug-18
Mike-TN 01-Aug-18
Mike-TN 01-Aug-18
DMTJAGER 05-Aug-18
29-Jul-18
Will be going to some brand new land next week and will be putting out stands and trail cams. I have never used trail cams before and I have no experience using them. I have done several trial runs on setting them up so I understand how to position them to maximize their use and effectiveness. Like make sure to clear out any plants or tree branches that the wind can move and trip the IR sensors. Yep that one put 300+ pics of nothing much on my cam but lesson learned. I have two thick heavy timbered hedge rows in separate fields and one small 4-5 acre block of woods in the SE corner of a 20-25acre field that butts up to a much bigger block of woods. There is great access to my land and I can get in and out quickly and not have to enter the woods very deeply to get to my cams so I'm hoping to have minimal impact when I do check them. I also plan on taking every precaution I can to minimize any scent I will leave behind when checking them. Unfortunately I have a 3.5 hour drive to the land so I will be limited on how often I can get to the land to check the cams. What I need to know is how often is it wise to check trail cams and how close to when I will be bow hunting should I risk checking them? I know absolutely nothing about the land, or the deer that are hopefully on it. Been spending quite a bit of time on Goggle Earth and have a pretty good grasp of the habitat on the farm. The two hedgerows, #1 is about 20 acres long and averages about 200' wide #2 is about 10-12 acres long by 100-125' wide and are basically good sized funnels so stands and camera positioning should be simple. The small block of woods per the AP also should make camera and stand placement pretty straight forward as well. Also would like to add in the past I have done some preseason glassing of other farms and have seen plenty of bucks while doing so, but of