Powder 05-Aug-18
Turkeyhunter 06-Aug-18
wytex 07-Aug-18
newfielander 11-Aug-18
Tao 13-Aug-18
04-Aug-18

Powder's embedded Photo
Powder's embedded Photo
I'm new to moose hunting this year. I've deer hunted a lot in the past but I'm really looking forward to this September for moose. I'm going on a DIY trip in northern Ontario and I'm hoping you guys can help me out with a couple questions.

I went to the area to do a little scouting and found what I 'think' are moosey looking areas. I've heard in late September during the rut they should still be around water. I've also heard talk about 'moose meadows'. I am attaching a picture of what I think is a moose meadow and I'm wondering: A. is it? B. do they feed on the grasses growing in the picture? C. Can bulls be called out into this or not?

I appreciate any help you can give me. I've got more pictures if that would be helpful.

04-Aug-18
The area back between the 2 areas of cover looks good and the smaller growth area way in the back. Out in the middle, not so much.

05-Aug-18
Thanks for the feedback. I'd love to hear from others too. You can't get enough comments!

05-Aug-18
Id be looking for willows that have been tore up from prior years. Maybe even an old a rut pit.

Can you set up a game camera at the far end to monitor any activity?

05-Aug-18
I went there last week for the first time and won't be able to go back until I hunt. It's a 12 hour drive. I will look at putting cameras up in the future.

06-Aug-18
Bulls will try to swing down wind once they get in close....within 100 yards. Looks like a nice area. Good Luck.

07-Aug-18
Look for browsed willows. The tops will all be the same length, almost like someone trimmed them. That is where the moose will be feeding. You might find a bull wallow up in the forest. It will be a cleared out spot like a big bed without any grass in it.

11-Aug-18