Beav 10-Oct-18
mn_archer 10-Oct-18
Treeline 10-Oct-18
t-roy 10-Oct-18
Paul@thefort 11-Oct-18
Fuzz 11-Oct-18
JRABQ 13-Oct-18
01-Sep-18
Hi all, First time posting on BOWSITE. A friend of mine told me to post my question on here. I'm a 4th year medical student and have had two strokes of luck this year, magically getting work covered in September, and...

So...I recently accepted an Archery Colorado Shiras Bull Moose tag for units 7, 8, 191 that somebody turned back in. I was planning to hunt elk in SW colorado during the exact dates for this tag so work was already covered. With only 20 hours to accept the tag, i was really pressed on this decision. I only had 4 bonus points and figured that I'd never draw the tag again, so I decided to accept the tag. I have been on the phone with the local wildlife officer and gained a decent amount of intel. I will have zero days to scout before the opener Sept 8. I am free to hunt every day of the two week long season. I am bringing two trail cams, and my treestand. I have a call horn and a decoy as well. I have an ATV. My folks will be joining and i'll be dragging the 5th wheel up top on the mountain for convenience to planned hunting proximity. .

I'm planning to focus my hunt around deadman road (CR 86) and Sand creek road (CR 336), this area is in unit 8 west of Red Feathers Lakes. Traditionally a majority of the bulls are harvested in this area. I will have limited help in packing a bull out and will not be bringing my horses up from the Durango area...thus, I will not be letting any arrows fly more than 1 mile from a 4wheeler trail or more than 400 vertical feet down a ravine. I will hunt for one week, and then if I have not harvested, I will take my wife and folks home and pursue a more aggressive means of hunting. I'm not looking to break the state record, but I'd like to shoot a mature bull. I always shoot animals that get me excited regardless of their size.