Rock 06-Sep-18
Shug 06-Sep-18
Craig 06-Sep-18
TODDY 07-Sep-18
doughnut 07-Sep-18
doughnut 07-Sep-18
Mpdh 07-Sep-18
06-Sep-18
Wondering if I there are any changes I should be making to increase the odds of pulling a bear in while i'm on stand. The million dollar question, I know... but I'm fairly new to this, so looking for any advice.

At the moment I have a big boar coming in to a bait site (started on August 24th) at most times of the day. I'm hunting in a area surrounded by large landowners so there is very little competition (that I'm aware of) as far as bait sites. The last couple visits he's been in at 2:30 and 5:30 PM. Generally has been hitting every other day or every two days. Initially he cleaned out my barrel, but now seems like he's coming in eating a little and heading out. I hunt about 100 yards off a corn field and the acorns are dropping. Stand is about 20 yards from the bait site, and other than the wind switching on me last night while on stand, the wind has been in my favor blowing away from the bears likely entry trail and bait. There are a couple other bears that have hit the bait, but they are smaller and have only come by once or twice.

I check baits about every other, or every couple days at the same time of day. I don't control my scent when I bait. I also haven't left any clothes behind to to keep scent at the site either.

As for the bait, i'm using a 55 gallon barrel (hole near the bottom) and fill it with dog food, crushed cookies, licorice, candy hearts, pie filling and grease.