Paul@thefort 30-Sep-18
Russell 30-Sep-18
Paul@thefort 30-Sep-18
Wood 01-Oct-18
Buglmin 01-Oct-18
x-man 02-Oct-18
Buglmin 04-Oct-18
26-Sep-18
How important is center shot on a Compound bow?

Does it have to be exactly in line with the nocking point and down the arrow shaft?

Or can it be slightly off line right or left slightly?

26-Sep-18
Depends on the bow . If you can yoke tune, set and forget it. If you can’t yoke tune you might need to move the rest a little left or right to tune.

26-Sep-18
Paul.....I am no expert but what I have done over the years to check my center shot is .shoot my 20 yd pin on a tall Target at 20 yds. I then walk back at 30, 40, 50 and so on shooting all ranges with my 20 yd. pin . If my compond center shot is not spot on the arrows will form a line left or right and I then adjust my rest accordingly......Bob

27-Sep-18
Yes, centershot [adjustment] is very important.

No,... it rarely ends up exactly "in-line" with the string.

In order for it to line up exactly in the center of everything you would have to eliminate the cable guard and shoot through the center of the cables. Then you would have to have the contact point of the grip in the center of the bow both horizontally and vertically. Then you would have to put the nocking point exactly in the center of the string, the rest exactly in the center, and then... here comes the tricky part... you would have to shoot through the center of your bow hand.

This is why each bow tunes different. The farther each bows geometry is off from "perfect center" the more "tuning" we have to do to compensate. Short bows without cable yokes are almost impossible to tune effectively. I will never own a bow shorter than 33-34" that doesn't have yokes to help "compensate" for the torque that has been engineered into the bow design. Bows longer than 34" are much more forgiving as they are less bound-up by tight lateral string and cable angles.

I hope that answers more questions than it may have created.