altitude sick 20-Oct-18
SixLomaz 20-Oct-18
fatbass 20-Oct-18
cnelk 20-Oct-18
SixLomaz 22-Oct-18
Slate 22-Oct-18
Turkeyhunter 22-Oct-18
18-Oct-18
Love to hear from some experienced moose hunters. I'm starting to plan my 2020 moose hunt. This will be a once in a lifetime hunt for me. I have been bowhunting elk for almost 30 years, have harvested 22, but know nothing about moose. To be guaranteed a tag, I believe I need to hunt Alaska, BC or Canada? I'm currently looking at outfitters, gear, costs etc, but would be grateful to anyone who can help me out. Thank you.

18-Oct-18
Full disclosure, I've never gone on a moose hunt but done quite a bit of research.

You can actually do a DIY moose hunt in AK, as a guide is not required, but the logistics take lots of planning, especially once a moose is on the ground.

Going the guided route, generally costs will increase with size of moose. The Alaska-Yukon subspecies is largest and most expensive to hunt. Things get a little cheaper for hunting Canadian moose in BC. I've heard there's quite a bit of difference between northern BC and southern BC. Northern is more wild country and similar to Alaskan hunts. Southern BC is generally smaller moose and could be less remote.

Some relatively inexpensive options in Alberta, and provinces moving east from there. But some of these can be more of a meat hunt looking for the first legal animal.

Then there's Newfoundland. Plenty of moose and unique terrain, but again not the trophy size moose of Alaska and NW Canada.

Again, these are all just generalizations based on my research, but hopefully it gives you a place to start.

18-Oct-18
Im planning one for 2020 as well. A couple buddies and I are gonna do a float trip in Alaska. Im just starting to look into this so I cant really help but will be watching this thread closely.

18-Oct-18
I'm in!!! Let's kill some moose!

18-Oct-18

cnelk's Link
See link and what I posted earlier this year

18-Oct-18