JohnMC 28-Oct-18
WV Mountaineer 28-Oct-18
Big-Al 28-Oct-18
lewis 28-Oct-18
sitO 28-Oct-18
28-Oct-18

Big-Al's embedded Photo
Big-Al's embedded Photo
I'll attempt to capture my the story of my first archery killed whitetail. I'm blessed to live within walking distance to my stand and I have a great neighbor that allows me to cross the river and hunt 10 acres below along the river by my house.

I've been chasing whitetail on my river bottom for a couple years now. Killed many mule deer and a few elk with my bow, and several whitetails with my rifle. This year I was committed to taking my first whitetail with my bow. With that being said, I created a small tree stand/platform about 12' up in an old, dying cottonwood tree. The diameter of this tree is 10' and it has most definitely seen its better days and many, many animals pass it by.

I've created several mock scrapes on the travel corridor I hunt. They have been hit fairly regularly this year. I also run several trail cams on the river bottom and have captured several massive deer that move in to breed our local doe herd. This year, I've only captured a few small bucks on cam, however, I found him the two nights ago. I know he was a younger deer but had a decent rack and a big body. I decided that if he gave me the chance, I would gladly take him...

28-Oct-18