deerslayer 31-Dec-18
wildwilderness 31-Dec-18
x-man 31-Dec-18
WV Mountaineer 31-Dec-18
deerslayer 31-Dec-18
Ucsdryder 31-Dec-18
WV Mountaineer 31-Dec-18
29-Dec-18
I've decided it's time to change my arrows this coming year. I have had good luck with the ones I'm currently shooting, but for a laundry list of reasons it's time to change (one being they don't make my arrow any more). I was dead set on getting some FMJ's, but am pretty hard on my arrows, and don't want to get one bent only to figure it out at the wrong time.

I currently shoot a 550 grain 30" micro diameter arrow. (125 gr BH and 50 gr outsert) I want to stick with a heavier arrow, but am a little out of the loop on the latest and greatest as I have been shooting the same arrow for 6 years. I've heard good things about VAP's and wouldn't mind going with Easton either, just not the FMJ's.

Not too worried about cost, just want a heavy, small diameter carbon that can take a lot of abuse. I also want the regular style insert. (Used outserts on my current arrows and found they're too much hassle) What say you fellas?

29-Dec-18
Easton Axis

29-Dec-18
Best all around would be 5mm Easton Axis. Add in the 50/75 brass insert to get the weight you want.

29-Dec-18
I’ll 3rd that. I really like mine. I have the pro series. No complaints yet.

29-Dec-18

Ambush's embedded Photo
Ambush's embedded Photo
I used FMG’s for season then went to the Axis. A short footing made from either a 2016 or 2018 aluminum shaft turns a very, very good arrow into a nearly indestructible arrow. The footing addresses the inherent weakness of the HIT insert. And I don’t like outserts. Unnecessary complications.

29-Dec-18
Shot 5mm axis this year, great arrow. I think they check all your boxes.

29-Dec-18
Easton axis

29-Dec-18

Buglmin's embedded Photo
Buglmin's embedded Photo