Dale06 10-Jan-19
Amoebus 10-Jan-19
GF 10-Jan-19
Amoebus 10-Jan-19
GF 10-Jan-19
Nick Muche 10-Jan-19
Dale06 10-Jan-19
02-Jan-19
Recently, the area that I hunt has been graced with the presence of timber wolves. I hunt in Sawyer County Wisconsin. I've been hunting the same general area for over 30 years but until THIS year I have never seen any sign of one. This all changed Sunday evening.

I have a stand well off the beaten path. I take the 4 wheeler through the woods on my brother's property to where it connects with an old skidder trail. I park there and then walk about another half mile or so to the stand which is on public land that has no motorized vehicle access. On Sunday, when I got to where I park the 4 wheeler, I noticed several different sets of fresh wolf tracks on the skidder trail. Discouraged at the sight, I walked to my stand expecting an unsuccessful outing. I was correct. Not a creature was stirring.

Just before dark, as I was preparing to leave the tree, a pack of wolves cut loose howling and they were not more than 400 yards away. I've heard coyotes howl hundreds of times but this was the first time I've heard wolves howl... and they were very close. This was the first time that I have ever been afraid while hunting. I'm miles out in the middle of nowhere, half a mile away from my 4 wheeler, less than a quarter of a mile away from a pack of wolves, it's almost dark, and I'm armed with only my bow.

I climbed down and cautiously worked my way back to the 4 wheeler, started it, and got the hell out of Dodge. This is the last time I will ever hunt that area without a sidearm.

02-Jan-19