Timbrhuntr 14-Apr-19
Dale06 14-Apr-19
writer 15-Apr-19
Mark Watkins 15-Apr-19
hobbes 15-Apr-19
writer 16-Apr-19
Cobie33 17-Apr-19
12-Apr-19
Taking a family trip to SD next week to (among other things) chase some turkeys in the Black Hills. It's technically a family vacation, so I'll be somewhat limited on time/days to make it happen, but can pretty much plan around whatever I need to. I have plenty of experience hunting eastern birds - and maybe they're the same - but I'm wondering if anyone has any tips/tricks or if there is anything I should know in regards to Merriams in general?

I've read some on them, and it seems they move around a bit more than other turkey species and tend to be very vocal on the roost (then shut up - but I guess that probably varies a lot). Looks like I might be dealing with snow - never hunted them in the snow but does this typically change anything about their habits?

Do they typically roost in the same areas and are patternable - especially early season when they're bunched up like they should be? I appreciate any insight anyone has!

12-Apr-19