Too Many Bows Bob 24-Apr-19
MedicineMan 24-Apr-19
Bea 24-Apr-19
lamb 24-Apr-19
Shawn 24-Apr-19
Linecutter 24-Apr-19
Beendare 25-Apr-19
23-Apr-19
Ive been hunting with a recurve for almost 20 years now. I've done Africa once for plains game with a 48 lb black widow....with no issues. Sub 100 yard recoveries. I shot the light bow because, well, frankly, I shoot a light trad bow more consistently. However, I am heading again to hunt Cape Buffalo. I have a bud who will loan me a 68lb recurve. I've seen ( and read) about the ribs and thick hide on these animals. I guess I have two questions I'd like to draw on the experienced folks answered. And I'm a realist....so , I can and will consider, constructive input/ideas.

1) Is that lb recurve just not really an option and I should just nix it right now? 2) If it is doable, assuming reasonable distance and near perfect placement. I am anxious to hear thing like what would be considered minimal arrow weight, suitable broadheads etc.?

23-Apr-19
I shot a Cape buffalo with a 74 pound compound, 980 grain arrow tipped with an Ashby two blade. Penetration was poor, 18” or so. Can you kill one with a 65# recurve, of course. But in my view, it’s far from ideal. Outfitters will tell you it’ll work, but they are after the trophy fee. And I’d say at least 50/50, your buffalo will have a .375 or larger hole in it when all is said and done. Nothing terrible about that, but you need to know and understand what might happen.

23-Apr-19
Others were successful with similar weights Fred Bear, Jim Doughtery come to mind. No idea about arrow weight or broad heads. Might take a look at Asbey's report.

23-Apr-19
Roger, can we presume that you can pull and shoot a 68# recurve bow as accurately as you can with the 48# bow. or at least work up to that poundage prior, with confidence and shot placement? My limit on my recurve in 55# and I do believe I could never pull a recurve/long bow over 60# much less, "70" pounds. Good luck. Paul

23-Apr-19