Grinder 18-May-19
JSW 18-May-19
Little Bear 20-May-19
SteveB 20-May-19
Z Barebow 20-May-19
oldlongdraw 20-May-19
JSW 20-May-19
16-May-19
Does any one have experience hunting Unit 71 in Colorado San Juan National Forest? What will typical weather/temperatures be like in early September? Would love to hear from anyone that has hunted this area as to terrain, elk #'s, etc. I'm a complete newbie as this is my first elk hunt and it is not guided. Four of us on our own. Any input is appreciated.

16-May-19
High country in Colorado can literally be 85 at noon and hailing sleeting or snowing at 4. Last summer scouting first weekend in August we scouted all day at 11-12000 feet in blistering heat and then woke up to a dusting of snow and ice on everything the next morning. I don’t know about your particular unit but the general weather in Colorado is somewhere between 30 and 90 for September in the elk woods.

16-May-19
I don't remember it snowing anywhere in Colorado last August, umm... As far as weather in September, it's tough to say. No one can predict it. Just come prepare is all you can do.

16-May-19
I guess since buglmin didn’t see it it didn’t happen ummmm....

17-May-19
I haven't seen snow in the San Juans in August or early September. But, afternoon thunderstorms with hail balls are fairly common.

17-May-19
It snows quite a bit in the San Juans in August and September

17-May-19
Never hunted 71, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn once or twice. Have hunted 80 and the best advice I can give is if you’re in the mountains anywhere, be prepared. Hunted Idaho one year and it started in the 90’s and 4 days later it was snowing. When I got to Wyoming last week, it was snowing. It’s been in the 70’s this week and calling for snow this weekend.

Be prepared.

17-May-19
I have hunted 71 for over 45 yrs. Used to be lots of elk. Not so much the last 2 or 3 yrs. Be prepared to see more bear sign than elk sign. Lots of hunters.

17-May-19