cnelk 26-Jun-19
ben h 27-Jun-19
COHOYTHUNTER 27-Jun-19
Grey Ghost 27-Jun-19
Treeline 27-Jun-19
Grey Ghost 27-Jun-19
Brun 30-Jun-19
22-Jun-19
I've been chasing a Colorado 201 archery elk tag for over 2 decades and have remained 1-2 points behind the creep. I don't think I'll ever catch up to it, so I'm ready to dump my 21PPs on a different unit in 2020. So far, I'm considering 2, 10, or 61. I'm most familiar with 2, but I'll have time to scout whichever unit I choose. 2 isn't a guarantee with 21 PPs, but my odds are decent. 10 and 61 should both be a shoe-in.

In your opinion, which unit offers my best chance at a 350+ DIY bull, and why? Feel free to PM me, if you prefer confidentiality.

Thanks in advance,

Matt

22-Jun-19
2, if you have the time to hunt for most of the season (or get lucky like we did). Scouting isn't as important as having time to hunt during season. We killed the two biggest bulls we saw, and we had never seen or cammed either one before they showed up.

10 has bulls that size but there are challenges to access to them in some places. Chris Roe ended up renting a boat and coming in from the Utah side, and the bull he finally killed was in the low 340s, if I remember correctly.

Can't speak to 61 as far as bull size.

22-Jun-19
Thanks Lou,

I'll have the entire season to hunt. I also own a drift boat and love to fly fish, so a river hunt is certainly a possibility that's appealing to me.

Any other opinions?

Matt

22-Jun-19