t-roy 07-Sep-19
casekiska 07-Sep-19
weekender21 08-Sep-19
Schl44 15-Sep-19
Mark Watkins 16-Sep-19
18-Aug-19

Schl44's DeerBuilder embedded Photo

I have a mix of 4 clovers some rape and some chicory. Its starting to get over run with weeds. There is a really good catch of the clovers under all the weeds. My question is when should i mow this plot if at all. If it should be mowed, how short should i cut it. I am in West Central Wisconsin. Thanks for any advice!!

18-Aug-19
Yikes. In all honesty you l might consider mowing it now. Those weeds will go to seed and you’ll be fighting them for years. You can clip brassicas early and they may recover. Tough call.

18-Aug-19
Do something now to save your clover, otherwise you’ll have nothing IMO. I’m not an expert, but I learned early and painfully that you have to stay on top of weeds and grasses in clover. Nuke them when they are young and mow every time the clover goes to seed. I personally would not plant anything with clover that grew over 8”/10” high, because that’s where I mow clover at.

18-Aug-19
I agree clip it if you had rain or are going to get some. That thing will be a nightmare if those weeds all go to seed. You still have a window to broadcast more brassicas into it. Things like Radish grow extremely fast. We are starting to enter the weather pattern that really favors clover. You will only help your clover if you set back those weeds.

You can also broadcast Winter wheat in that to use some of that N that those weeds are loving. I see an early application of Imox in your future next Spring.

18-Aug-19