aDrenalinJunkie21 03-Sep-19
COHOYTHUNTER 03-Sep-19
aDrenalinJunkie21 03-Sep-19
Greg S 08-Sep-19
03-Sep-19

aDrenalinJunkie21's embedded Photo
aDrenalinJunkie21's embedded Photo
Hi Folks,

I'm new to building arrows, and I've been working on a batch of Easton FMJs, and I wanted to share my experience/see if people are having the same experience to make sure I'm not going nuts.

I really like these arrows. I've shot some that I worked on over the winter before i was better at fletching/putting arrows together and despite my rookie mistakes they seem to fly and spin pretty well. They all weigh roughly the same too.

One thing I have noticed is that squaring up the FMJs is a bit of a pain. It seems to take a lot more work on the G5 ASD then the black eagle carnivores (the arrows I used for practice earlier this summer so I didn't mess up the FMJs) I put together. The ones that I've squared so far and dry fitted the components looked like they spun pretty well.

One other thing of note; I originally tried using the Deep Six inserts which I was told could be used with the FMJ arrows, but they just didn't sit right on the shaft for me (I'm using the 5mm), and so I'm going to be using the HIT inserts. Seem to be getting a better result. Hope that saves someone a lot of frustration (and/or a trip to your local archery retailer).

Thanks for any helpful tips/feedback!!

03-Sep-19
The Deep Six is a 4mm shaft, and the inserts for them are way too small for the 5mm shafts. I use Ethics Archery components when I build fmj's. The HIT inserts is junk and create a soft spot in the connection. A lot of guys are putting collars over their fmj's if the HIT insert is already installed.

03-Sep-19
Thanks for the clarification - the description of the product I read said all FMJ shafts, but as I've now learned, they're no good. Which is annoying, but good to know now. Practice makes perfect I guess.