TonyL 26-Sep-19
Hunt98 27-Sep-19
JL 27-Sep-19
SmoothieJonez 02-Oct-19
PECO 02-Oct-19
25-Sep-19

SmoothieJonez's embedded Photo
SmoothieJonez's embedded Photo
I'm looking for advice, suggestions & tips regarding self filming hunts. I have no fancy equipment - HME Better Camera Holder & Samsung WB250F 14.2MP CMOS Smart WiFi Digital Camera with 18x Optical Zoom, 3.0" Touch Screen LCD and 1080p HD Video (pic attached).

I'm a veteran hunter and looking for the challenge of self filming hunts & the rewards of being able to share my passion of archery hunting with friends & family. I'm not going to invest in high-end equipment & video cameras until I try it out for a season using what I have.

I have a few questions for those who self film or have in the past. If you have not self filmed hunts, I ask you not to comment and follow along if you're interested in learning like I am.

Here are a few questions I have: I'm always in treestand and always shoot standing up. Where do you suggest to anchor camera holder in tree - at waist or shoulder height?

I'm a right handed shot, do you suggest anchoring camera holder on my right side or left? Or it all depends on the layout of the terrain and expected path of deer? Do you use an external microphone and if so, which one do you recommend?

Any other tips & advice would be helpful & welcomed.

Lastly, I looked at the last 100 topics and did not see any regarding self filming hunts. If there is one, could you attach link?

Many thanks in advance and wish you all a safe & productive hunting season.

25-Sep-19
Look up Fourth Arrow camera arms. I got one and it's head and shoulders above any other arm I've used. I anchor the arm waist height if possible, on the right side, as a right handed shot. As a right handed shot, your easy shots are on your left side, so i set up to (hopefully) shoot on the left side. Therefore, I don't want a camera arm there. Hope that helps.

25-Sep-19