BOWNBIRDHNTR 03-Oct-19
Franklin 03-Oct-19
Wv hillbilly 03-Oct-19
SteveB 20-Oct-19
Paul@thefort 20-Oct-19
yeager 20-Oct-19
Inshart 21-Oct-19
26-Sep-19
I will attempt to chronical our trip to the Rocking R. This trip was almost 2 years in the making, actually longer than that. Rob, my whitetail hunting buddy and I have been talking about elk hunting for 20 years. We never made it happen. We always found reason's (excuses) to not go. We never planned it, we never saved for it, we always had the "maybe next year" mentality. Meanwhile, we talked about it quite often. Fastforward to 2017, January. We are having dinner with our wives and start talking hunting. It turns to elk hunting. They sigh, look at us and proceed to dictate that we either "put up or shut up"!!!!!

26-Sep-19
The process begins and after talking to several of you here on Bowsite, Rob and I are ready to book with Dan at the Rocking R, in Feb. of 2017. Wait, before we can book my wife comes to me says you know your not getting any younger and neither is your son, you need to book him with you on this trip. I love the idea and explain to her the cost implications of taking my broke, married and still in college son with us. That means my hunt just doubled in cost. Not just the booking, but gear, tags, tips, etc. She repeated the statement that time is short, make it happen.

March 2017 - We book and the countdown begins. Rob, Ross and I are headed to southwest Colorado in 18 months. It should have been four but Steve, another great friend and whitetail killer said "no joy", too expensive. Too bad, he would be a blast and would round out our flatlander group quite nicely.

26-Sep-19
Preparation begins, kind of. We join RMEF, watch videos and such but the fountain of excitement is there, we can feel it, but it just has not erupted yet. We are still a long way off. We hit September of 2018 and now things begin to heat up. 1 year!! 1 year and we are elk hunting, but it still doesn't feel real.