Buglmin 30-Mar-20
kscowboy 01-Sep-20
Habitat 01-Sep-20
kscowboy 03-Sep-20
Medicinemann 03-Sep-20
olebuck 03-Sep-20
kscowboy 04-Sep-20
05-Dec-19
I have a number of mounts in a room with a high ceiling. Below a whitetail mount I am seeing some small bugs on the floor which are less than a 1/16" long. I remember seeing a thread on here about bugs attacking mounts. Right now I do not have a ladder tall enough to reach the mount. I can see no damage to the mount but I suspect that the bugs are coming from it. I have a total of 17 mounts in the room so I am concerned about this turning into a major problem. Does anyone have any information on the type of bugs that attack mounts and how to address them?

05-Dec-19
If you’re seeing bugs then you already have a problem. You better find a way to get up to that mount and see if hair is pulling out.

I’m no expert..... but I think moths are a big problem.....

05-Dec-19
I was told they were rug weavals My pest control guy mixed up some clear spray in a windex type bottle and I just spray lightly when ever I clean,they eat the hair right at the skin line and you will see the shells usually in the ear hair

05-Dec-19
Moths, beetles, and cockroaches are all bugs that will infest mounts. I once mounted a buck that was infested with lice on the hoof. I use the Borax method of taxidermy, instead of tanning the capes. Even though this buck's cape had been frozen prior to mounting, the lice managed to survive. I had to leave the mount in my garage for a few months before the lice finally vacated it due to not having any blood to feed on.

Can you post a picture of the bugs? Perhaps we can ID them for you.

Matt

05-Dec-19
I spray mine with “Mount Medix”, sorta smells like peppermint and is supposed to keep moths and other bugs out of your mounts

05-Dec-19

goyt's embedded Photo
goyt's embedded Photo