rjlefty3 06-Jan-20
elkstabber 07-Jan-20
Percy 07-Jan-20
Outdoordan 07-Jan-20
canepole 07-Jan-20
Russ Koon 07-Jan-20
BC 07-Jan-20
05-Jan-20
I'm finally getting caught up after the holidays, enough so to at least share my deer hunt in SD last year. I don't post much but I think I finally have a story worth telling!

A little about me - I grew up in Maine and have lived here my whole life. After I graduated college, I took a job in Rapid City for a year. I had always wanted to hunt out west, especially spot and stalk mulies on the prairie. And this was an awesome opportunity to get to do it. Unfortunately, due to work commitments (I worked a lot that year!) I was never able to get out with my bow, but did manage a couple rifle hunts and I was hooked.

After my contract was over, my wife and I moved back to Maine (against my will, I'll add), but I try to make it out west every year. She's at least very understanding and gives me a week or 2 per year to head back west. Last year I rifle hunted SD with a good friend and we each got our first mulies.

I had planned on finally getting my chance to hunt on the prairie this year and aimed for September. Of course this year SD decided to change their public land laws for NR, so I was stuck until October. I already had vacation planned in November so decided to wait until then to go. I also invited a new buddy of mine to come. He also had never been out west before. Despite the short notice, he was able to work it out. I knew he would love it. We got all our gear set and soon enough we were on our way.

05-Jan-20

rjlefty3's embedded Photo
Day 1

We flew into Rapid City without any issues. We were both relieved to see our bows and bags show up. We got into our rental car and headed into town for some food and gear. We were amped up to get going and headed over to our intended area – were I had been last year. We slept in the car that night and first light had us looking over a few drainages, but we never saw anything on public.