Whisperingwapiti 06-Feb-20
Inshart 06-Feb-20
LUNG$HOT 07-Feb-20
Inshart 07-Feb-20
Grey Ghost 07-Feb-20
320 bull 10-Feb-20
Outdoordan 10-Feb-20
04-Feb-20
Ok, I have finally got the courage to ask. I hope I don’t get blown up here, but a guys gotta start somewhere! Ok so a little about myself, I’m 30 yrs old this year, I’ve been hunting elk in northern Idaho for about 10 years, a small group of us are looking into taking the 2020 season off in the state of Idaho, and thinking about giving the DIY,OTC Colorado hunt a swing. My dilemma is as follows: 1) PRESSURE- a lot of my research has been on forums like these and everyone talks about the amount of hunting pressure they face in the state. For a very experienced/successful group of guys this bothers me slightly, because we all know how it is to have a “rook” if you will, come in and blow up our area!! I’m not looking for your honey hole by any means, maybe just a little help on finding areas that seem to have less pressure than others? 2) LOCATION,LOCATION- when e scouting, what kind of tips can you give someone that has never been to the area. Hunt area 211 seems to be similar to the area I hunt at home other than the mess of roads that seem to cover a lot of the unit. What units can offer elk 2-5 miles from most roads, yet still hold off the pressure? We’re not afraid to go further, just using 2-5 as a perspective. 3)WEATHER- we plan on this hunt being in September during the rut, what kind of weather is in the area during this time? The altitude is similar in unit 211 as it is here in north Idaho where we hunt, but I know that altitude isn’t always the answer to precipitation. Should we pack in probability that we are going to be swimming or shoveling snow? Thanks for all the positive input, and negative as well, we all know the truth hurts...... I’m pretty thick skinned though?????

04-Feb-20