fastflight 15-Feb-20
sitO 15-Feb-20
Pop-r 15-Feb-20
Lee 15-Feb-20
Jims 15-Feb-20
Buglmin 16-Feb-20
NEIAbowhunter 23-Feb-20
14-Feb-20
I'm still fairly new to the turkey hunting game and acknowledge I still have a lot to learn. I have a buddy that's been doing it for probably 15 years and almost always shoots his bird in the first 30 minutes of open season. He calls and they come strutting right in perfectly. I've shot 1 Jake in the last three years. I usually hunt 2nd and 4th season here in Iowa. If the birds aren't roosted in my part of the woods it seems I can pack it up and go home. My slice of heaven is sort of a peninsula of woods that sticks out into a CRP field. It used to be a crop field but 2 years ago they planted it to the government program. I have yet to be able to call a turkey across the field. I thought maybe I was just a terrible caller so I had my buddy come call for me. Nothing. They respond, but they refuse to come across that field. No one else turkey hunts up near my woods that I know of so they aren't really pressured birds. There are quite a few coyotes in the area. Is it possible they are scared of crossing that open field due to the coyotes? I've gotten them to the edge of the woods across the field and they hang up there refusing to cross. Do any decoy experts think swapping a jake decoy for my tom/hen combo would make any difference? As frustrating as it has been, it is just making me that much more determined to get one of these stubborn birds. Just looking for some advice.

14-Feb-20
When you say CRP I am envisioning thick talk grass that is good pheasant habitat, but you say open field. Other than to possible nest in I don’t see turkeys crossing a traditional CRP field that they can’t see 2 feet in front of them. Decoys won’t matter if they can’t see them.

Happen to have a picture of area you are referring to?

15-Feb-20

Paul@thefort's embedded Photo
I have had success with a strutter tom.
I have had success with a strutter tom.