LBshooter 19-Feb-20
SD BuckBuster 19-Feb-20
wilbur 19-Feb-20
Jaquomo 19-Feb-20
Dpat 19-Feb-20
Tradmike 19-Feb-20
Tradmike 19-Feb-20
18-Feb-20
I'm planning my first guided elk hunt next fall.. I've never done any kind of guided hunt before.

Curious as to what you guys typically plan on spending on tips for the cooks and guide?

18-Feb-20
A watermelon farmer gave me a watermelon for a tip one time...

18-Feb-20
Liv2hunt88 - this question comes up frequently.....you can research previous threads for input. A lot of it depends on your personal situation, and the cost of the hunt....finances, etc.....but for me, it really boils down to this....did I have a great time? Did the guide put forth a strong effort? On a pretty expensive hunt, a 5% tip is still a lot of money....on a less expensive hunt, 10% might be more in order.

Jaq…..was he a pretty seedy character?

18-Feb-20
Yellow meat or red ? I like yellow better, so I would have guided more gooder for one of those.....

18-Feb-20
Never did a guided hunt. I would think 15-20 % would be about right. Those guides don’t get paid as much as some might think by the outfitters. Guides come and go.

18-Feb-20
It’s up to you but ..... A great elk hunt and a great guide $500 a great cook that put out really good meals day and night $150 . Based on a 5 or 6 day elk hunt.

19-Feb-20
I think I like that Elkslaya guy!

19-Feb-20
Here we go, again....

Matt

19-Feb-20
The search function was not working on my phone which is why I asked for some advice. Didnt mean to offend so many people, you dont have to respond if you dont like the topic.. it's rather simple

19-Feb-20
great question. anything less than 15% is insulting and at least that should be considered an expectation of the hunter regardless of service levels

19-Feb-20
Live2hunt88