Mule Power 25-Mar-20
zeke 25-Mar-20
jl223 26-Mar-20
Royboy 27-Mar-20
hunt'n addict 27-Mar-20
altitude sick 28-Mar-20
zeke 03-Apr-20
25-Mar-20
Guys I need help. I am soon to be 69 yo. I have bow hunted elk hunted OTC in CO. for the last 20+ years. I have always had some problems with my feet hurting, either blisters or some other problem. It's not that I am not used to walking in boots. I worked as a timber cruiser for a paper mill for 25 years, and still do a little timber consulting. I walk a lot in the hills of west KY and TN, but not in the mountains out west. I can still walk with most of the younger guys I hunt with.

I started out with the boots I already had, I don't remember the brand. Next I went with the Danner Pronghorns, they were great for a few years. Then the quality went to crap. I couldn't get 3 months out of a new pair. Then I wore Irish Setters for a few years. Comfortable but not durable. Next I went with a Meindl light weight, also good (they also didn't last very long) for a few years, now discontinued.

For the last 3 or so years I have been wearing Meindl Denali boots mostly for elk hunting. The boots have been a pain to break in, but after several hundred miles and 3 trips to CO. they do fine on relatively flat ground and up hill. Down hill kills my toes even tin the rolling hills of west KY. I think maybe a different insole might help. What can I do?

25-Mar-20
If downhill is the main problem it may just be a size issue. For steep ground, especially with a weighted pack, most boot manufacturers recommend sizing up a half or full size so your toes can't hit the end of your boots.

25-Mar-20
Size or improper lacing technique.

25-Mar-20
Try a different lacing

25-Mar-20