Mike Ukrainetz 07-Apr-20
Jaquomo 07-Apr-20
jensbear 09-Apr-20
Mike Ukrainetz 09-Apr-20
Hoot 26-Apr-20
Ward's Outfitters 27-Apr-20
YZF-88 30-Apr-20
31-Mar-20
Headed out west (hopefully) this fall for spot and stalk mule deer. Two part question here. How far is your typical shot and I assume mechanicals will do the job. Already got the outfitters opinion just checking out the pros on here. Thanks

31-Mar-20
Tater, I see you're from Ohio , I've never hunted there but I'm sure your shot distance in most cases are alot closer than spot n stalk muleys here. I have a feeling you're going to get a bunch of bickering back n forth about this ,so here's my spill. I've been hunting archery muleys for 22 years, my closest shot was 34 yards, furthest was 91, angle compensation told me hold at 88. Shoot a bunch starting at your max distance now and push and push out from there. When the time comes only you will be able to know if it's a good shot that you're presented with.

31-Mar-20
All my mule deer Spot and stalk have been within 40 yards. 20-49

31-Mar-20
Mule deer live in a lot of different country. Some is very open, some is thick. It will vary a lot based on the habitat you're hunting. I've killed bucks as close as a yard, and as far as 35 yards, but it could easily be further depending on the area.

31-Mar-20
So many questions for you; What time of fall, what state, what terrain, what outfitter, what eco system? open desert? Mid elevation mountain hunt? And very high elevation bucks are a completely different game all together in my opinion!

My closest was 7 yards, my farthest was a whole lot further, a ways past 60 that's for sure!!!!

Practice long, long, shots and the short ones are easier! A 400-500 gr arrow is plenty of of medicine... I prefer 60-70lb bows and heavier arrows for longer shots. Heavier arrows fly better and retain more energy!

Bow tuning is everything!!!

31-Mar-20