BullBuster 22-May-20
Ok...Russ 22-May-20
t-roy 22-May-20
Fuzzy 29-May-20
Fuzzy 29-May-20
11-May-20

Ok...Russ's embedded Photo
All, I'm new to food plots and read the thread from C5Ken so just want to see if on the right track for our plots. The location is East Central Oklahoma. It's newly purchased this spring and is 300 acres with about 10 acres of established food plots. Currently has rye along with clover which is coming up nicely. Took soil samples in 4/17 and got back on 5/5 so not too bad given the virus. Had to drop off outside the OSU extension office then they took to Stillwater for analysis. I have 4 samples from different plots but all are very similar in results. pH is between 5.1 and 5.5. Lime deficiency .5 - .7 tons ECCE/A. This is 1000-1400 lbs/acre if 100% lime. Since it's not 100%, I'm actually going to need a fair amount more right? My primary question is do I try and get the pH up all in one year(if possible) or do I add about 500-600 lbs/acre of pelletized lime each of the next couple of years? My other question is more of a clarification based on the other thread. The Potasium is showing 51 lbs/acre. If I find 0-0-60 at feed store, I'd need 85 lbs/acre(51/.60). Thanks in advance!

11-May-20

Taken 5/9
Taken 5/9
Oops - said Potasium at 51 but it's 63 lbs/acre. So, if my calculation was correct it'd be 105 lbs/acre instead of 85 as I posted above. Here are a couple of pics of one plot.

11-May-20

11-May-20
yes, ...pH of 5.1 is pretty low.... lime takes a while to work, I'd apply the full recommended amount and plan on applying another quarter ton/acre next fall

18-May-20
another thing to consider is what your soil parent material is. Here in the Valley and Ridge of Virginia if you are on shales and sandstones you have to lime much more aggressively to achieve satisfactory pH adjustment

18-May-20