SteveB 05-Jul-20
Jims 01-Aug-20
nowheels 06-Aug-20
White Falcon 06-Aug-20
Smtn10PT 06-Aug-20
DanaC 09-Aug-20
JL 09-Aug-20
04-Jul-20
I'm new to the game camera scene and have lots to learn. I bought a couple Browning Defender 940 cameras and am trying to narrow down the many setting choices. I will likely be setting them up at waterholes in open sage/rimrock country where there is no trees. I have a feeling most of the deer will be watering early and late in the day as well as night.

I likely won't be able to check cameras for at least a couple weeks at a time so battery life and filling SD cards is a concern. Obviously the more photos and higher definition photos will take up more room on an SD card and shorten battery life.

Here are a few settings my Defender camera has that I'm trying to figure out:

Photo Quality: my camera has a range from 4 to 20 MP. I'm wondering if in low light conditions if 4 mp is good enough?

Picture Delay: How much time between pictures. My camera goes from 5 seconds to 60 minutes between photos. If one buck comes in and others follow I'm sure it would be good to take several photos. Also a rump may show up in a photo and miss the deer antler photo.

Single Photo or Multi-Shot Modes: 1 to 8 photos taken at a time. As an example 2 photos could be taken 2 seconds apart. There is also a Rapid Fire mode where 2 to 8 photos are taken at 0.3 intervals.

TimeLapse: Photos can be set up to be taken right and sunrise and sunset of areas when deer may be outside the motion detection zone.

Anyway, I thought I would toss this out there and see what settings people have had success or failure with game cameras. I have my camera set up at home on bird bath and feeders to get a feel for performance and settings.

04-Jul-20
My useless two cents....there are alot of threads on here about cams. You can do a Google search using Bowsite as one of the terms. Maybe try "Bowsite trail cams".