mgmicky 06-Jul-20
DonVathome 06-Jul-20
wytex 06-Jul-20
splitlimb13 06-Jul-20
OFFHNTN 06-Jul-20
welka 06-Jul-20
Buskill 06-Jul-20
05-Jul-20
I’ve very little experience with guided or semi guided hunts in the American West. In an area that’s a tough draw for a bull elk tag ,what’s a typical range of rates for a drop camp that would include an outfitter guaranteed tag. This area is pretty decent but definitely not a major trophy zone by any means. Going in on horseback , outfitter provides everything but the food and of course he packs you out. I’m familiar with the exact area of this potential camp and it definitely holds elk. I don’t doubt good game will be close at hand.

05-Jul-20
I'm not to sure what you mean by outfitter guaranteed tag. In New Mexico I've seen them range from 1500 a person to 3500 a person. Depending on the unit ,and or area of the unit you are talking about. I've seen drop camp services provide a camp and in reach but no more than that as far as equipment or gear. This is just the experience I have with drops I'm sure there are plenty out there.

05-Jul-20
Kill rate is usually very low on drop camps.

05-Jul-20
What I mean by outfitter guaranteed tag is this: if an individual wants a tag to hunt bull elk in this area it’s a draw. Very low odds. An outfitter in that area has a few tags that are given to him by the state for that area. It’s not a draw, he will have the tag if you book.

05-Jul-20
I’m really interested in what people’s experiences have been concerning cost. I’m not interested in their success rates or even if they enjoyed the experience. I’m only asking about what it cost.

05-Jul-20
Are you talking about the USA? That's not how it works. Some states have landowner tags that are procured by guides.

And there's not many states that have drop camps because you can drive everywhere you hunt. Mostly CO and most of those tags are OTC. A few in NM. A few in WY. Possibly a couple in NV.