glidingindian 14-Aug-20
glidingindian 14-Aug-20
Grey Ghost 14-Aug-20
Skelly 14-Aug-20
Grey Ghost 14-Aug-20
Hunts_with_stick 16-Aug-20
03-Aug-20
Hey Guys,

After 2 scouting trips in the trophy elk unit I drew, I've realized I'm not too good at field judging elk antlers. I can usually guess a Mule deer's rack within a few inches, but I haven't hunted enough giant bull elk to get a feel for judging their antlers. I've always said if the bull looks like he can scratch his butt with his antlers, he's a big bull.

Now that I have the opportunity to actually chase some trophy bulls, I want to hone my field judging abilities. Any tips and/or pics of giant bulls, and what they scored, would be most appreciated. I know I could just do a Google image search, but I thought it would fun to hear from fellow bow hunters about how they field judge elk antlers.

Thanks,

Matt

03-Aug-20
Oh, you'll know a 400 when you see one. Even amongst 350 class bulls they dwarf them in body and antlers.

There was some old threads with pictures, but it looks like they don't load.

I believe Big Dan (rip) killed one a long time ago and might have pictures on his profile.

03-Aug-20
Jay Scott has a method that works very well. Learn it. I will add that there are very few 400" bulls in CO.

03-Aug-20

JohnMC's embedded Photo
JohnMC's embedded Photo
I’d guess that one about 415”-420”???

03-Aug-20
Here's one taken last week in Arizona.

03-Aug-20

Grey Ghost's embedded Photo
I'll start with a pic of a bull that my buddy sent to me. What do you think he'd score, and why? To me, he lacks the width and mass to push him towards 400". I'd put him in the 370" range. What say you?

Matt

03-Aug-20