crestedbutte 30-Sep-20
elk yinzer 30-Sep-20
GF 30-Sep-20
samman 02-Oct-20
22-Sep-20

stealthycat's Link
That's a good bull that grizzly killed

22-Sep-20
I'm not a grizzly expert - in ya'lls opinion what's the size of that bear? 500# ? bigger?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jzo2Ie7B7CI

22-Sep-20
Amazing footage! Thanks for sharing. That there might be 500 pounds, but likely a bit less. Seems to me that that Elk may have had underlying issues? Seemed to give up rather easily. When he came off the hill he wasn’t looking like he had it all together.

22-Sep-20
elk had a broken leg.

22-Sep-20
“Texas, I’m talking to YOU.”

LOL on that one!

Can’t imagine that a bear would have anywhere near the endurance to run down a healthy Elk outside of the initial sprint in an ambush; had to be a lot of preamble to what we saw in the clip.

Kinda looked like the left foreleg was flopping while the bear was rolling it over and over, but hard to know when that happened.

Whatever it was, the bull was too weak to bound across the water even in the shallows, and seems unlikely he’d seek refuge in the water unless he was plumb out of alternatives...

22-Sep-20
Pistol or spray?

22-Sep-20
Grizz-1, Elk-0

22-Sep-20
I'm curious. Was that an '''ethical" kill? It seemed to me like that elk suffered quite a bit before he died.

22-Sep-20
Was not ethical kill . Clearly grizz has not sharpen his claws and teath since his last kill.

I always imagined a grizz just round-house smackem aside da head and that be it . Lunch time.

22-Sep-20
Left rear leg was broken. Bear probably swatted/broke the bull’s back leg back up the hill and broke it. Ran him down and finished the job....

22-Sep-20
PS - bear is probably closer to 400 #. Big enough!

22-Sep-20
I read on fb that the elk was fighting another bull and got gored.

22-Sep-20
A well earned meal, Mother Nature at its finest.

22-Sep-20
did the elk that gored it have to tag it, or the bear, or neither?

22-Sep-20