sticksender 15-Oct-20
pa10point 15-Oct-20
Cheesehead Mike 16-Oct-20
So467 16-Oct-20
Bake 16-Oct-20
Bowfreak 16-Oct-20
skipmaster1 16-Oct-20
14-Oct-20
Sitting 30’ up a tree this morning in my 15 year old LW climber, I was wondering at what point I should change out the belts. Up a tree would not be the best place to find out it was past time. How often does anyone one replace the traction belts.

14-Oct-20
I have no advice to offer but will be keeping an eye on this thread. I've been using climbers for about 36 years and this is my first year in a Lone Wolf (Assault hand climber). It took a few practices run in the yard to get used to be I can say for me it is the quietest, safest and easiest to use climber I've ever had.

14-Oct-20
I changed mine when I noticed the rubber start to crack & show the cable running through it. Tried asking Lone Wolf about it but couldn't get them to respond, maybe due to liability.

14-Oct-20
Posed this very same question to myself last year (10yr LW Assault). Simply decided there was no downside in replacing the straps and went ahead and did so. Imo, reasonable capital commitment for peace of mind.

14-Oct-20
I tried cutting the belt on one because it was too long for my trees. For the life of me couldn't get it cut. So the innards are incredibly tough. Don't need to worry about it snapping imo. You would notice insane wear before it was brittle enough that all the teeth simply fell off and the belt slipped through. I'd say you're safe until you notice wear getting bad.

14-Oct-20
I'm on 22 years with mine. Haven't changed them. No signs of wear.

14-Oct-20
And I’m down 30# from last year, so that should help too.

14-Oct-20
30' wow. That's a hell of a climb. What does LW advise ? I'll bet they would tell you to change it.

14-Oct-20
Any metal cable wrapped in rubber is going to turn into a rusted metal cable. Heat changes would cause this too. The danger isn’t in snapping it. It’s in it rusting and eventually snapping.

14-Oct-20