RT 23-Oct-20
Dale06 23-Oct-20
Knothead 25-Oct-20
Scar Finga 25-Oct-20
bigswivle 26-Oct-20
EMB 27-Oct-20
AZBUGLER 29-Oct-20
22-Oct-20
Danner boots get a lot of negative press on bowsite so I want to give my experience.

I bought my first pair of High Grounds about 5 years ago and really liked them. I just finished my second or third year (wish I knew for sure) with 400 gram, gortex high grounds. These are my second pair. The first pair are still in pretty good shape but do leak water if you get them soaked.

In the last 2 years, I've put hundreds of miles on my current High Grounds. They are extremely comfortable and have yet to leak even the slightest bit.

My experience is that if you can get 2 full years out of any gortex boot without them leaking you are doing good. That is, if you put any miles on them at all. I don't care if they are $100 or $400 boots, the gortex only holds tight for so long.

I've been using Danner boots for about 20 years and have had nothing but good luck.

The single most importing thing when picking a new boot is how they fit your foot. They have to be comfortable from day one or you will have problems. Danners fit my foot and I'm very pleased with how they last. It really helps that they are fairly inexpensive.

It seems that they are no longer making the High Grounds so I ordered a replacement pair on close out for next year, earlier this week. I'm set for another 2 years. After that, I'll have to find something new.

23-Oct-20
Seams. Seams are weak points. ALL seams leak eventually regardless of materials or 'lining' or... Good leather boots with minimal seams, properly waxed/sealed, will stay about as dry as g-tex or any other laminate. I do buy 'light hikers' but have no delusion that they're going to keep my feet dry for too long. I look more for comfort and ankle support. Look for the simplest (least seams) designs. And I wear wool blend socks even in summer.

23-Oct-20