Medicinemann 20-Nov-20
Rupe 24-Nov-20
Shuteye 24-Nov-20
DMTJAGER 24-Nov-20
Rupe 24-Nov-20
Drahthaar 24-Nov-20
Treeline 01-Dec-20
14-Nov-20
I know the topic of decoying comes up now and again on here, and so I thought I'd share my story from a couple nights ago, the night of the 12th.

This comes about as I've been hunting a certain buck for 5 years now. A gooder. I seen him twice last year, and once this year in 5 years. He's not a mega-giant but I have been super-infatuated with him. To the point of being problematic. Well, this year I didn't even start hunting whitetails until October because of my elk Manitoba elk tag. I managed to see the buck once in mid October, but he was a little far at last light and I elected not to #sendit. This buck lives in a ginormous tract of woods which makes him difficult to pin down.

14-Nov-20
Fast forward to mid November, and action on my cameras has dried up as I am sure every mature buck is locked down with does. I actually had a serious desire to rifle hunt for whatever reason, so I took off to a different area of the province with a friend and rifle hunted for 2 days. I passed a 7-10 bucks in the 100-130 category, and one morning saw a group of deer on private property 150 yards away. The glassing there were some does, and wowza, a real nice buck. 150"ish. moving over to the last deer of the group my jaw drops as he easily dwarfs the 150. I like to think I can field judge decently until about 160" to within a few inches, and then after that I just call them "really big." This one was "really big." Anywho, he was on private and I was unable to gain permission, and I didn't shoot anything on the trip.