Percy 25-Nov-20
bohuntr 25-Nov-20
standswittaknife 25-Nov-20
12yards 25-Nov-20
GhostBird 25-Nov-20
paul@thefort 25-Nov-20
Mo/Ark 25-Nov-20
17-Nov-20
Friday the 13th was a great day to be alive and in the woods. I rarely post on bowsite, but figured you guys might enjoy this story. As a background, there is a piece of public here in Arkansas that some friends and I have been hunting the week prior to Muzzleloader season for 20 years now. We bow hunt as much of the week as we can get off, then usually hunt the weekend with the smoke pole. Well, this year I got skunked. First year in about 5 I came out of there empty handed. Kind of restrictive rules these days. Have to kill a doe first, and there is a 2 deer limit. But we have so much fun down there, we still make the trip every year.

Since I got skunked this year, and didnt draw any of the local public land for a gun permit, I picked up an unclaimed permit to go back down there for the gun hunt, which opened this past Saturday. I convinced my wife I needed to go down Thursday night to bow hunt Friday before the gun opener. This is also the first year since 2001, that I have not harvested at least 1 deer before the first of November. Been seeing plenty, just never could put it all together. So, I figured I would try to change my luck by picking up the boom stick.

Drove down Thursday night and got camp set up in the dark. We have been hunting down there so long, I have so many stand areas marked on the GPS, it's more about picking one away from the crowd, than picking the right one. I made my mind up where I wanted to be and went to bed.

Got up super early for breakfast, a 4 mile ATV ride, and a little over half mile walk carrying all my stuff for an all day sit. Including my stand, and my kill kit (gotta remain optimistic, right?). I finally got my stand set, and ready to hunt at 0601. Legal shooting light was 0606, so just in time.