Ermine 03-Jan-21
goyt 03-Jan-21
ELKMAN 04-Jan-21
Ambush 04-Jan-21
GF 04-Jan-21
ELKMAN 06-Jan-21
GF 06-Jan-21
01-Dec-20
I was just watching the Bowhunter TV show and they did a tip segment with Randy Ulmer. I always He was describing how he determines whether an arrow should have a Right Helical or Left but marking the arrow with a sharpie and shooting 2-3 yards. He determined that the bare shaft had a counter clockwise or left natural rotation so then he used a left wing helical.

In all my years of arrow tuning I have never heard of this. Seems brilliant. Have I been living in a cave and is this is well know thing?

01-Dec-20
I've been doing this for several years, always made sense to me so I've done it. I doubt the majority of us can tell a real difference, but maybe one exists....

01-Dec-20
I would believe Randy on any tech tip he provides.

01-Dec-20
If I shot half as good as Randy I'd probably pay more attention to those details.

01-Dec-20
I had done it when shooting my recurves and then got away from checking when I switched back to a wheel bow. Ranch Fairy on YouTube and his arrow tuning videos got me to really look at my arrow set up. Nock tuning sounded crazy, but it seriously made a huge difference in how a bare shaft flies and impacts the target. Once I figured out my Prime throws arrows out with left rotation, I fletched that way and went with left single bevel Cutthroats. They group right along my field tips out to 50...

01-Dec-20
I am no expert but guessing you did not live in a cave. I did not watch it but was it fixed blade hunting arrows? I do not understand why it would happen or what would cause it. If I did likely it still falls under irrelevant category for me. I hope and do learn some new every day.

01-Dec-20
I have heard that the string twist determines the direction that the bare shaft spins

01-Dec-20

JB's Link
I started a similar thread back in May.

01-Dec-20