Drahthaar 19-Jan-21
Pop-r 19-Jan-21
nowheels 19-Jan-21
GVS 20-Jan-21
butcherboy 20-Jan-21
INbowdude 20-Jan-21
19-Jan-21

Tradman and Huntress's embedded Photo
This was a little pig, so the back straps are tiny...but boy are they good!
This was a little pig, so the back straps are tiny...but boy are they good!
I've been cooking and preparing wild game for over 35 years now, and this year tried something new for the first time- Canadian bacon from a wild hog. It turned out absolutely delicious! It doesn't have that rubbery texture that commercial Canadian bacon has but is much smoother.

Since I had plenty of cure, I decided to play around with a couple of small pieces of fat I trimmed off the back straps and made some small bits of bacon with that. I will never discard another piece of fat off a hog! If you have a smoker you have to try this!!!

-Cheryl

19-Jan-21

They may be small bacon bits, but what they lack in size, they make up in flavor!
They may be small bacon bits, but what they lack in size, they make up in flavor!
I'll be saving all our fat pieces from now on, no matter how small!

19-Jan-21
Looks good! Recipe?

19-Jan-21
I can smell it!

19-Jan-21

midwest's Link
I've used this cure from Curley's for all kinds of bacon from domestic pork with great results. Regular pork belly bacon, Canadian bacon, cowboy bacon from pork shoulder. Use the same cure for doing birds and deer shoulders. Great stuff!

19-Jan-21
Take the jowls and do the same thing with them. Turns out fantastic!

19-Jan-21
Thanks for sharing. Forrest

19-Jan-21
Only problem is there usually isn't much fat on them.

19-Jan-21
I agree with JohnMC, looks great but please include a recipe!

I’m down to my last 10 lbs or so of pork, so I’m hoping I can add one to the freezer. I’d love to try and add some bacon to the mix.

20-Jan-21