trophyhill 24-Feb-21
SmokedTrout 25-Feb-21
hunt'n addict 25-Feb-21
LUNG$HOT 16-Mar-21
IdyllwildArcher 16-Mar-21
shakey 17-Mar-21
29-Jan-21

brettpsu's Link
Surprised this wasn't brought up here. Another tag grab across the west for the outfitters.

29-Jan-21
This is a way to control private land harbored animal numbers, which most residents and nonresidents will never get to hunt. Similar to before I-161 passed.

29-Jan-21
Good grief. MT has been my go-to state the last several years. I have fired off a comment to the Bill's sponsor but I ain't holding out any hope that I will be heard. I'm no expert on MT, but in the areas I have hunted, I have never seen an outfitter/guide or any hunters that are hunting with a service. Just another welfare program.

29-Jan-21
Hadn't heard about this. Didn't we used to have some guaranteed tags that went to outfitters in the past? 60% seems heavy. Outfitters have been shafted for awhile between the loss of those tags and poor predator management.....many went under. I don't mind seeing some guaranteed tags go to them but that % seems high off the cup. Have to do a little more research. Thanks for the post.

29-Jan-21

29-Jan-21
Voters in MT abolished the guaranteed tag system to MT outfitters a few years back. The number back then was 10% I believe. 60% is WAY too high. If you think leasing of lands was bad at the 10% level it'll really explode at 60%.

Outfitters shouldn't be guaranteed tags. Just like 99% of us they should have to compete for business.

29-Jan-21
If you thought Colorado OTC was packed before, wait until this goes through!

29-Jan-21
Portions of this sound similar to Wyoming's draw system. The killer for me is NR do-it- yourselfers only get allotted 40% of the initial total of big game combo and deer combo tags and whatever scraps, if any, are leftover from the guaranteed outfitter tag draws.

I think Randy put it in context correctly with something like....."we're all non-residents in 49 states".