altitude sick 28-Feb-21
Mule Power 28-Feb-21
Kevin Dill 28-Feb-21
caribou77 28-Feb-21
Jasper 07-Mar-21
Mule Power 07-Mar-21
Kevin Dill 07-Mar-21
26-Feb-21
Great suggestions on taking a pad to sit on and a tarp to cover up with during inclement glassing weather during my caribou hunt. Tell me more about pads and tarps....materials, brand names, sizes, etc. please.....thanks!

26-Feb-21
Ultra light designs makes a great tarp for that use.

You can buy fold up pads off eBay for about $3. I’ve been using one for 3 years. In snow, rain, and pretty weather. My butt stays warm and dry.

26-Feb-21

huntinelk's Link
I've had good luck with this 3 leg stool, nice to have at camp and light enough to pack during the day.

26-Feb-21
i made my own sil nylon tarp and i always carry a thermarest z butt pad.

26-Feb-21
+1 on the Thermarest Z seat pad.

26-Feb-21
Not a pad, but the aluminum pole chairs, about $80 or so, that fold up and fit in a zippered bag about 15" long and 5" across are worth taking if you have the space and weight allowances. If your tent will be big enough, they are great if you get weathered in. I pack one mule deer hunting at times.

If you can get one at a surplus store the military green foam pads are tough, waterproof, and provide a decent amount of insulation.

27-Feb-21
With a pad on the ground you’ll always be squirming around. Get the Havalon chair. Better leg circulation for long sits. There are some cheaper knock offs. They are so light and fold up so small it’s a no brainer.

My tarp came as a kit with all the Dyneema cords, stakes and carry bag. Amazon. Sanctuary siltarp. So far so good.

27-Feb-21
Jimmy tarp still sewing?

27-Feb-21

Jasper's embedded Photo
Jasper's embedded Photo
This tarp Joe? Googled the Havalon chair but nothing came up?

27-Feb-21
Helinox Chair

28-Feb-21