Brotsky 05-Mar-21
12yards 05-Mar-21
Rut Nut 05-Mar-21
aboks 05-Mar-21
nowheels 06-Mar-21
writer 10-Mar-21
JusPassin 11-Mar-21
05-Mar-21
I have a slate call that came with two strikers. It seems like my strikers don't work very good anymore. Is there something I can do to get them to work more consistently? Sanding the tips or whatever?

05-Mar-21
I lightly roughen up a small spot on the slate. Make sure the slate doesn't get wet or it likely won't work. I switched over to diaphragm calls many years ago and will never go back to slate. Your hands are free with diaphragm and you are always ready to call rather than fumbling around with call and striker that may spook turkeys with the movement.

05-Mar-21
The direction you sand makes a difference too. I'm no expert by any means, but in general I found if you twist the striker (the ones I have are uniformly rounded at the tip) so the sandpaper makes grooves around the shaft, much like the direction of tree rings, it helps grip the slate.

Also depending on the type of slate it needs to be sanded too. Same thing, the direction of sanding needs to make the grooves run perpendicular to the direction you are running the striker.

Neither of these actions is enough sanding to majorly remove material, it just sets up some micro grooves on each piece so the striker can grip the slate and create the sound.

05-Mar-21
A Scotchbrite type pad and and/or 100-140grit sandpaper on both the slate and the striker tip helps a lot. Sanding perpendicular to the direction you are pushing/pulling the striker gets better sound quality, IMO.

I much prefer a diaphragm as well, but sometimes they respond better to a peg n slate, box call, etc.

05-Mar-21
I'll sand my striker tips and slate call daily, when using them... the more I run them, the more I sand them... If you have never sanded them, start there.... scotch pad for the slate, light grit sandpaper for the striker. I use heavier sandpaper for glass calls....

05-Mar-21