Ucsdryder 21-Jun-21
WV Mountaineer 21-Jun-21
Quinn @work 21-Jun-21
Pop-r 21-Jun-21
Zim 21-Jun-21
Phaseolus 21-Jun-21
Pop-r 22-Jun-21
19-Jun-21
Was able to draw first rifle Oct 16 unit 61 colorado for elk. Been researching this unit for several years. Has anyone hunted it during the rifle and noticed if the on going drought has affected the water sources - vegetation or elk population. Been "E" scouting and will probably be in unit a couple of days before season starts. Will look at small dirt trails or other away from the main roads. Killed many elk both archery and rifle so able and willing to park, bivy, hike. Any suggestions. Thanks for the help. Jerry

19-Jun-21
I have no experience hunting 61. But I can tell you that area has the highest drought rating ( D3 - Exceptional Drought). So, unless conditions improve, expect water to be very scarce. And expect any areas that still have water to be loaded with hunters. Hopefully the entire unit won't be on fire in Sept-Oct.

Good luck, and I hope others with hunting experience in that unit chime in.

Matt

19-Jun-21
Hunted this is archery season a few years back. Non-stop bugles from 4am to 11am every day :) it’s been in a draught for a long time. Elk are still where they are… you will be fine!!hold off for a 340+ Until the last days of your hunt. Seen too many hunters shoot a sub 300 in this unit.

19-Jun-21
I've hunted up along the divide road on the 62 side a few times and there seemed to be lots of water high up there even when it's dry. I suspect the 61 side will also have a reasonable amount of water up high but haven't had boots on the ground on that side. Of course that doesn't necessarily mean the elk will be up there when the pressure arrives.

20-Jun-21
Ftr..they're aren't many IF any 340 bulls in 61. If you hold out for that you will go home empty handed. I doubt you see any bulls over 300 your entire trip. They're simply NOT there.

20-Jun-21