Buck Watcher 23-Jun-21
Russ Koon 28-Jun-21
Empty Freezer 28-Jun-21
MA-PAdeerslayer 28-Jun-21
razmania 28-Jun-21
Bake 28-Jun-21
razmania 28-Jun-21
21-Jun-21
I’ve been shooting FMJ for the last 4-5 years and I running low on inventory. I will mainly be hunting elk, whitetail deer and black bear.

What arrow and diameter would you recommend?

21-Jun-21
Easton still makes the FMJ, why switch?

https://www.lancasterarchery.com/nsearch/?q=easton+fmj

21-Jun-21
I shot FMJ’s then switched to 5mm Axis several years ago and have been extremely happy with them.

22-Jun-21
If you’re all set up for them, tuned well, etc., and you aren’t horrified by the price of them, why would you switch?

If you do want to switch, the only reason diameter might matter is if you have plenty of components around that you’d prefer to use, rather than replace.

Shooting a sturdy COC fixed blade, guys have been shooting through very large animals with 23/64” wood shafts for tens of thousands of years, using bows with a fraction of the power output of a typical #50 compound.

So you call it a fashion statement, really. Shoot what you like. Unless you’re making your own self-bows and rivercane arrows, everything we have today is WAY better than what has worked (very well!) for millennia.

Except mechanicals. They will ALWAYS suck.

LOL

22-Jun-21
Why switch? Simple answer…fmj’s bend. Not as much as pure aluminum, but enough that it can play hell with broadhead flight. And there’s a reason not many still shoot 23/64” wood shafts. In this day and age, there are much better choices.

23-Jun-21
Axis with 50 grain insert works for me. If these ever break I will go with the 5mm Axis Match Grade. I have FMJ too.

28-Jun-21