Hessticles 06-Aug-21
ElkNut1 06-Aug-21
LUNG$HOT 10-Aug-21
lewis 10-Aug-21
Goelk 11-Aug-21
jdbbowhunter 12-Aug-21
Live2Hunt 12-Aug-21
04-Aug-21
I broke my bugle. Need a new one. Not interested in Phelps/Rocky Mtn/Primos.....what else is out there? Yes I know I can make my own. What else is out there that you guys like?

04-Aug-21
Curious why you’re not interested in those options?

04-Aug-21
With those comments it shows me he's not a serious caller of elk! Size of your bugle should not be in ones decision making. Get what helps you to be better than you really are!

ElkNut

04-Aug-21

wyobullshooter's embedded Photo
wyobullshooter's embedded Photo
Well SBH, from one non-serious caller of elk to another, this is what I use. It’s 19” long, has a 1 5/8” OD, and is quite flexible. I’ve been using it for over 30 years and it’s fooled LOTS of elk. Apparently I’m just lucky or only run into tone deaf elk. I’m ok with that.

I don’t care to haul a wiffleball bat through the woods either. My tube provides plenty of volume for long distance calling, but in close is where it shines for me. Where I hunt is very thick. I can easily maneuver it, with very little movement, to “throw” my call in any direction to entice a bull to take a step or two to open up a shot. So yeah, for me, size and flexibility is most definitely taken into consideration. Use what you feel is best for you, big or small, and tune out the noise.

04-Aug-21
Rod, your bugle looks just like one of the Primos bugles he said he didn't want! (grin)

ElkNut

04-Aug-21
Paul, it is somewhat similar to the Primos Terminator, although I’d cut off the pre-positioned mouthpiece. Since he mentioned Phelps and Rocky Mountain tubes, I would think he was referring to the Primos Hunting Hoss tube.

04-Aug-21
No problem, honestly here I'm not sure what he wants? (grin) If it took a 5 gallon bucket to haul around to call elk I'd be the 1st in line for it! Ha Ha!

ElkNut

05-Aug-21