darktimber 25-Aug-21
20-Aug-21

darktimber's embedded Photo
Let me preface with saying, this is my first attempt at a write-up, but always enjoy following along with others when they chronicle their hunts. I wish I would have taken more pictures along the way, but when always alone, I forget to get the phone out. I have lived in Wyoming 20 years this fall, and have been applying for a Mountain Goat license for 19 years. Seems like a very long time, but have talked to many others that have been waiting much longer! Wyoming is a one and done state for Mountain Goats with no preference points. Its seems after a while you are just applying for sake of applying and it really is never going to happen. But this year in May when I eagerly checked my “big 3” draw results, expecting the usually string of yearly unsuccessful let-downs, Holy Crap! There it was, Resident Mountain Goat, Successful! It’s one of those deals you have to look at for a while, just for it to register. I wouldn’t say hunting a mountain goat was on my “bucket list”, because really didn’t think it would ever happen. I don’t travel to hunt much, just annually in November for archery whitetails back in Nebraska where I grew up, and some upland bird stuff. One of the key reasons I moved to Wyoming 20 years ago, was for the wide array of hunting opportunities that exist here. I always thought it would cool to harvest as many animals with bow that Wyoming has to offer. That is where luck of the draw comes in, literally.

Once the reality sank in, I mentioned my great fortune here on Bowsite, and immediately got several responses offering help. Man, what a great group. I travel all over Wyoming for work, but don’t often get to the area I had drawn the goat license in. So, I got all the forest service maps, downloaded all the onx for the area, and talked to the Mountain Goat biologist. Next, up was a summer scouting trip.