Z Barebow 28-Sep-21
ELKMAN 29-Sep-21
bigeasygator 29-Sep-21
Dyjack 29-Sep-21
HDE 29-Sep-21
Cheesehead Mike 29-Sep-21
txhunter58 10-Oct-21
22-Sep-21
NEED HELP I have two days left on my hunt in New Mexico but had to come back home home to sign closing papers on our sold house. I can not get the elk close enough to get a shot. They are still in their bachelor groups and will not respond to cow calls and only want to talk to each other and me without commenting to move at all. I am right in the middle of some groups but with out the rut the bulls are not even interested. This is my first time elk hunting and have stalked in between a few groups of nice bulls but cannot get them close enough to seal the deal. All the help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Head back later today.

22-Sep-21
Get the wind right and go to them. Don’t be afraid to be aggressive when the time is right.

22-Sep-21
Agree with Greg Stop calling and just stalk to them

22-Sep-21
ok thank you

22-Sep-21
The others have it nailed. Despite what the Primos videos show, most of the guys I know that kill elk frequently use calls to locate them, and then try to stay as silent as possible when actually closing the distance to kill them. Yes, calling can work - but I think you’re better off trying to slip in silently.

It’s always a gamble, when to be aggressive, when to sit back, and 9 times out of ten you’ll probably get it wrong (or more than that if you’re someone like me!).

As I mentioned on your other thread, one of the toughest parts of elk hunting in the VV is all the elk you have to contend with. It can require the stars to align to kill the elk you want - ninja skills, the elk to make a mistake and move off in a killable position, the wind to stay in your favor, etc

Stay with it. Get aggressive. Stay silent once you have them located. Welcome to elk hunting!

22-Sep-21