bigeasygator 09-Dec-21
DonVathome 09-Dec-21
Kevin Dill 09-Dec-21
DonVathome 20-Jan-22
Drop Tine 22-Jan-22
Kurt 23-Jan-22
Kurt 23-Jan-22
05-Dec-21
Looking at doing a Blacktail hunt on Kodiak in 23 or 24. I’m from Wisconsin and here at home while I do hunt solo most often you’re never really “to far” from help if your smart and let someone know your general location and expected time back.

I like the idea of the inreach for here at home if you have an emergency and out of cell range. But Kodiak is a whole different scale in my book. The right equipment can be critical. I’ve seen enough negative comments on the communication aspects for the Inreach like taking a day or two for messages to be received once sent. That concerns me with a SOS signal not being received. Also seen mention of acquiring a signal can be sketchy even with the slightest overhead cover. Which seems odd to me being a hound big game hunter I have lots of experience with the Garmin tracking equipment in the woods and it’s been rare when I couldn’t acquire a signal.

A PLB once setup you bring it along and push the button if the need arises and pretty bullet proof. Replace the battery every 5 years.

Looking at the brain trust here to see what your experience has been with this type of equipment.

05-Dec-21
Inreach

05-Dec-21
I purchased an inreach this year after years of using a spot. Being on Kodiak and being able to text back and forth with the pilot was worth every penny. If you turn the service off and on and only pay for 3 or 4 months a year, it ends up being about the same price as the Spot with the texting option. I don't regret it.

05-Dec-21
InReach

05-Dec-21
I’ve been using an InReach for 3 years now and have the annual safety plan. I use it when hunting, hiking, backpacking and fishing/ice fishing year round and have never had any of the problems you mention.

InReach for sure!

05-Dec-21